View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:37 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:31 am
Posts: 3
Post Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
I am using Windows 7, and encountered an error in running ORPG from a fresh install. The DOS prompt pops up, flashes some text, and immediately closes. I attempted a Traipse install as described in the known fixes thread, but had no luck with that either. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.


Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:52 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
Did you install Python 2.7 and or wx.Python 2.8.11? If so, you need to read the thread about that problem.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:19 am
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:37 am
Posts: 335
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
We probably need to save a set of instructions for how to get that message for when the Python itself basically freaks out so the window closes as fast as it opens. Problem is the interface is a little different for each Windows version.

(1) Open a windows CMD box / DOS-like box. Go to the start menu / the windows button at the bottom/left of the screen. There should be a box to type the name of the program you want to run. Type "cmd" and hit return. You should open up a DOS-like box.

(2) Change directory to the OpenRPG directory. Type eg, "cd c:/OpenRPG" or whatever the directory is called. The prompt should become "c:/OpenRPG>"

(3) Start OpenRPG. Type "start_client.py".

And then the error message should be displayed in the DOS-like box for you so you can tell us what it is. Note that you can go to the top left corner of the DOS-like box and select from that menu "Edit -> Select All" and then "Edit -> Copy" to copy all the text in so you can just paste it here. I don't know why they don't allow you to just hit Ctrl-C on the DOS-like box.


Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:13 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:31 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
Is this it?:


#!/usr/bin/env python

import sys
import os, os.path
import runpy

runpy.run_module('updater.gui', run_name='__main__', alter_sys=True)

import pyver
pyver.checkPyVersion()

from orpg.orpg_wx import *
import orpg.main
from orpg.tools.orpg_log import logger

if __name__ == "__main__":
os.chdir(os.path.abspath(os.path.dirname(sys.argv[0])))
if WXLOADED:
mainapp = orpg.main.orpgApp(0)
mainapp.MainLoop()
else:
logger.exception("You really really need wx!")


Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:29 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
No, that is not an error message. That is the actual source of the file.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:45 am
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:31 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
C:\Users\Public\OpenRPG>start_client.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\Public\OpenRPG\start_client.py", line 7, in <module>
runpy.run_module('updater.gui', run_name='__main__', alter_sys=True)
File "C:\Users\Public\Python\lib\runpy.py", line 136, in run_module
fname, loader, pkg_name)
File "C:\Users\Public\Python\lib\runpy.py", line 54, in _run_module_code
mod_loader, pkg_name)
File "C:\Users\Public\Python\lib\runpy.py", line 34, in _run_code
exec code in run_globals
File "C:\Users\Public\OpenRPG\updater\gui.py", line 11, in <module>
from updater._updater import OpenRPGUpdater
File "C:\Users\Public\OpenRPG\updater\_updater.py", line 5, in <module>
from orpg.external.etree.ElementTree import ElementTree, Element
ImportError: No module named etree.ElementTree

C:\Users\Public\OpenRPG>


Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:00 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
That is the error. David will have to help you with that because it is asking for DJ's external Element tree module and says it can't find it.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:24 am
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:37 am
Posts: 335
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
You are the one who always remembers this bug prof.ebral. It always looks like a missing file to me.

It's saying it can't find the file at OpenRPG\orpg\external\etree\ElementTree.py

This seems to come up a lot. Did you ever figure out what was the reason or did you just ask everyone to switch to Traispe? Well to start from scratch as I'd have to..... but certainly it is a question worth knowing the answer to...

Is that file there? Does the file, "OpenRPG\orpg\external\etree\ElementTree.py" exist?


Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:09 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
I never figured out the reason. I always found it strange that DJ added an external Element Tree. Traipse just uses the one that comes with Python.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:59 pm
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:10 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: Concerning OpenRPG Issues in Windows 7
Is it possible if for some reason the installer isn't properly unloading all the files, that there is a zip that one can open and manually just sort of.. dump the missing files out where they need to be?

I don't know anything about programing, so sorry if my question is retarded and I'm basically asking you if fish can fly out of water, come in my house and drink wine with me.


Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:24 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.